A crushing blow to the blog

The nice part of this story is that I was able to successfully navigate two government buildings and a few hours of beauracracy entirely in Spanish. Something I didn´t know I would be cable of and was proud to have pulled off on my own.

The sad part of this story is that I had to do all of that in order to get a police report for the theft of my laptop.

I had been riding a night bus from Peru up the coast in Ecuador. I had been warned how ofter thefts happen on that bus and had been very careful with my belongings. But then when I transfered to an early morning bus within Ecuador I wasn´t as careful. And I paid the price for that. I snoozed a little bit too much and when I woke up someone had gotten into my small backpack (which had been at my feet the entire time) and slipped out my laptop. I didn´t lose any photos, because I still have my cameras and memory cards. But I did lose a lot of work I had done on many of those photos, and some long blog posts I had been writing. The computer should be covered by my insurance, but the deductable is still a lot of money, and I won´t have a laptop with me for the rest of the trip. So uploading more photos is going to have to wait until I get home. I will still post a few blog entries, using either photos that have already been uploaded or not using photos at all. But a lot of my blog entries will be on hold until late June.
I was pretty pissed about this for a whole day. But at the moment I´m in a nice beach town taking Spanish and surfing classes. So it´s hard to stay mad.

Leave a comment